Zion 100

View from the trail on the Zion 100

This is a snapshot taken by Matt Gunn (race director) on the Zion 100 Route. Check out the Zion 100 facebook page for more photos of the route.

I have noticed that many runners are looking for a “running vacation” where they plan a vacation around some kind of running event. I don’t know if that’s a new thing but for those of you who are looking for a great destination run I have a suggestion.

I recently met the race director for the Zion 100 mile race. There is also a 50 mile course. I understand that this type of race isn’t really for everyone. Many of you will probably not be interested because of the distance but for those ultra runners this is going to be an incredible race with some amazing scenery. I was excited to see an ultra marathon being organized right here in our backyard. I knew right away that this was a race we wanted to sponsor.

If you have never heard of Zion National Park click on the link and check out the pictures. (I would post an image of the park that I’ve taken but I think all of my Zion pictures got fried with my old laptop.) Zion is one of the most sought after destinations in the world and there is a reason why. The park is surrounded by massive red rock cliffs and sandstone spires. There are winding slot canyons and a rich history. Other than the race there are many other things to do for anyone. There are nearby mountain biking trails, many hiking trails from easy paved paths to take your kids on to intense and technical backcountry routes. There are many things that are great for the whole family such as dinosaur tracks and petroglyphs.

I’ve had many adventures in and around Zion National Park and I can tell you that it’s worth a visit. If you’re interested in the race then you can check it out at http://zion100.wordpress.com/ or find it on facebook.

About unshoes

Creator and designer of Unshoes minimal footwear.
This entry was posted in adventure, family, hiking, running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

