My real job

Although I enjoy making sandals, that is not my primary job. I am a self-employed Graphic Designer and Photographer. I laugh at how different my sandal making is to my actual career but then I stopped to think about it and realized that there are some similarities. Of course design is design, the same principles apply to interior design, graphic design, and product design. I have always followed the philosophy of, “form follows function”, in my graphic design work. I feel like I am following that same philosophy while designing sandals.

I also consider myself something of a minimalist in my work. The famous quote, “less is more” came from a design school. I agree with something a fellow designer Milton Glaser once said, “just enough is more”. Milton Glaser designed the iconic I heart NY t-shirt that you see everywhere. Design is about communication and adding more elements than is necessary is confusing. One of my colleagues said once that it’s not difficult to figure out what to include in design, it’s difficult to figure out what not to include.

Here is a link to a short animation that I made to help people better understand what graphic design is and why it is important: The Clothing of Business

Also here is a link to my online portfolio: terralfox.com

About unshoes

Creator and designer of Unshoes minimal footwear.
This entry was posted in design, minimalism, other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

