New Adventure Camera?

We have recently been thinking about purchasing a better camera that we can take on all our little adventures. Right now I have a Nikon D300s which I love but I don’t dare take it out on our adventures. My old D100 still works but has hard water and sand all over the sensor from its little mishap on the river. Another problem I have with the DSLR on adventures is the weight and bulk. I hate dragging it along and taking care of it all the time. We do have an old point-and-shoot camera but it is VERY slow and does not take very good photos. The biggest problem I have with it is the sensor quality and the lack of manual controls. It just does its own thing!

Right now we are thinking about getting the Pentax W90. It is a waterproof, shockproof camera with a reasonable price. It is a point-and-shoot camera but they have improved dramatically in the last several years. As long as I can have manual control I think it will work fine. I would like to have the option to shoot in RAW format but I guess I can go without. It is compact and we wouldn’t need to worry so much about putting in a waterproof container which adds a lot of bulk and weight.

If anybody has any good ideas or suggestions on a small, high-quality camera with some sort of waterproof option please let me know!

About unshoes

Creator and designer of Unshoes minimal footwear.
This entry was posted in adventure, outdoors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

