Reflections on Creativity

With the ten year mark of the infamous terrorist attacks on September 11th I have been thinking about what happened and how it happened. All Americans were affected that day but some were more than others. I personally didn’t have any family or friends who died that day but my heart goes out to those who did.

As I’ve thought about everything it took for that plan to be executed I have realized that it took a fairly large amount of technical planning and creative thinking/problem solving. That thought made me cringe inside. I usually think of creativity as such a good thing and I suddenly realized that it can be used for destruction as well. I, personally, believe that the drive to create and solve problems is a God given gift. It is a power that all humans posses. Some people say that they are not creative but everyone has an ability and drive to create. I don’t believe that creativity is locked to the arts as we are sometimes let to believe. To me creativity is the drive to look at a problem from different perspectives to create a solution. Too many people believe that because they aren’t gifted in music or drawing then they are not creative.

With the rise of the barefoot/minimal movement I have been in awe at the amount of good creativity that I’ve seen. I see a very large group of people from all over the world that have opened their minds enough to realize that our bodies are stronger than we have been led to believe. Many people have modified existing shoes to be more minimal. Many people are constantly innovating and creating their own footwear. Some might label you as the weird hippy person who won’t wear normal shoes but if you at least spark some critical thought in someone then you are making the world a better place. It takes creativity (looking at a problem from different perspectives) to go against social norms and take off your shoes.

There isn’t much I can do to fight against terrorism but I have the power of creativity and I have the choice to use it to help people or destroy them. I hope that we can all use our creativity (in whatever manner it presents itself) to make the world a better place. Although a few evil people have the power to darken the world as they did ten years ago, there will always be hope as long as we can channel our creativity towards good.

About unshoes

Creator and designer of Unshoes minimal footwear.
This entry was posted in barefoot, minimalism, other and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

