Call the Fashion Police!

It is simple. I don’t like shoes. I know there are a wide variety of minimal shoes and even boots available now days but it’s difficult for me to purchase them. First it’s hard to buy shoes when I can make something that suits me. While I always have big plans to make some sweet kicks for myself, it never happens. I never justify spending that time on something for myself. The other reason I don’t buy shoes is because I simply prefer sandals! As it gets colder and colder, my feet are acclimating but some times I need something warmer.

Luckily, I can wear regular socks with a pair of Pah Tempe sandals. Unfortunately, this is also considered one of the biggest fashion faux pas in existence. If you’re like me and you’re going to break the rules anyway, we came up with some tips to make it look better. It still may not be high fashion but you can get away with it.

How not to wear socks and sandals

How not to wear socks and sandals

1. Wear Pants
If it’s warm enough to wear shorts it’s warm enough to go without socks. I think that this is where the faux pas really started. When you see the old guy on the beach wearing short shorts with socks and sandals it just doesn’t make sense. Most likely, people that do that are trying to hide ugly feet. You don’t want to look like you’re hiding anything, just trying to keep warm. If, for some reason, you are going to wear shorts with your socks & sandals, ankle socks tend to look better.

2. The right combination
When you think socks and sandals, the image that comes to mind is Birkenstocks with long tube socks. It’s a terrible combination. The Pah Tempe sandals are a more technical and functional sandal so combining that with a more technical and well fitting sock will make it look better. Think of the colors  you’re combining. Make sure they go well together. In general, white socks are going to draw more attention. I like to wear black PT sandals with a pair of black fitted athletic socks. Few people even notice when I wear that combination.

3. Other clothes
If everything else you are wearing looks good on you then your socks and sandals are not going to be such a big deal.

4. Own it!
Your attitude can make a difference. If you’re trying to keep your overall appearance nice then it won’t be a big deal unless you choose to make it a big deal. Be confident. After all, a breaking a few fashion rules is a small price to pay to avoid chronic foot problems and deformities right? At least that’s what I keep telling myself! For some people being bold looks really well. I have a friend who is known for wearing some crazy combinations. She isn’t afraid to wear whatever she likes that day. Because it matches her personality, it works well.

If you’re offended by my sense of style, don’t worry. According to the weather report it will snow tonight. Snow and socks don’t mix well so I’ll have to put shoes on. :)

 

 

About unshoes

Creator and designer of Unshoes minimal footwear.
This entry was posted in barefoot, fashion, minimalism, outdoors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Call the Fashion Police!

  1. Anto says:

    Not sure, but in some cases it doesn’t lokk that bad, even in shorts.
    socks & sandles.

Leave a Reply

